More dates

    BAD Sydney Crime Writers Danger Awards Entry 2024

    This event has passed Get tickets

    Event description


    BAD Sydney Crime Writers Festival is pleased to announce that entries for the 2024 Danger Awards are now open. Now in their seventh year, the Danger Awards continue to honour books featuring Australia as a setting for stories about crime and justice. At BAD Sydney Crime Writers Festival in September 2024, four awards will be presented: one for best crime fiction, one for best crime fiction debut and one for crime non-fiction and thanks to the generous sponsorship of OverDrive Australia, for the second time, a People’s Choice award will be presented covering all threeΒ categories.

    For the successful crime writer, a strongΒ sense of place has always been fundamental, whether it be the Sydney of Peter Corris, the Melbourne of Peter Temple, the regional and rural spaces of early colonial crime fiction or the growing body of work addressing the impact of invasion and indigenous dispossession.Β 

    The Chair of BAD Sydney Crime Writers Festival, Sue Turnbull says, "Here at BAD Sydney, we have always been excited about cutting edge crime-writing that has its finger on the pulse of the Australian experience, in the past and in the present. This year we are delighted to announce our second debut crime fiction award as well as open voting for our second People’s Choice award, sponsored by Overdrive. This will enable readers to have their own say on what has impressed them in Australian crime storytelling over the past year."

    The Danger Awards will be presented during this year’s BAD Sydney Crime Writers Festival, from 11-14 September. The 2023 winners were Chris Hammer (a previous winner) with The Tilt for Best Crime Fiction, Matthew Spencer’s Black River for Best Crime Fiction Debut, Jonathan Butler with The Boy in the Dress was awarded Best True Crime and Rachel Franks won the inaugural People’s Choice Award with An Uncommon Hangman.

    • Entries open: 28 March 2024
    • Entries close: 13 May
    • Shortlist announced: 30 July 2024
    • People’s Choice Voting Opens 30 July 2024
    • People’s Choice Voting Closes: 1 September 2024
    • Winner announced: 14 September 2024
    • Entry fee: $33Β 

    In addition to the Danger Award trophy, each winner will receive $1000 In prize money and will be invited to speak at BAD Sydney Crime Writers Festival 2025.

    For more information and prize guidelines please visit www.badsydney.comΒ 

    For any further enquiries, please contact Grace Kopsiaftis: media@badsydney.comΒ 

    For media enquiries please contact Debbie McInnes at DMCPRMEDIA

    T: 02 9550 9207 | 0412 818 071 |Β E:Β

    Powered by

    Tickets for good, not greed Humanitix donates 100% of profits from booking fees to charity

    Refund policy

    No refunds