More dates

Inspire STEM: Australian dinosaurs, megafauna and fossils

This event has passed Get tickets

Event description

Inspire STEM: Australian dinosaurs, megafauna, & fossils 

Join us in exploring the creatures that used to roam Australia and their natural habitats. What is megafauna? Did mammoths exist here? What Australian dinosaurs have been found so far and what do we know about them?  

From famous fossil sites to the giant wombat-like diprotodon and other megafauna discoveries, this online workshop will provide practical, hands-on ways you can investigate Australia's findings in the fossil record with the children in your service. As part of this, we will delve into the role of dress up and imagination, as well as teaching techniques like scaffolding and fossicking. 

This interactive workshop consists of two 1.5 hour sessions across two afternoons and you’ll receive a materials list to prepare in advance made up of everyday items in your home or service. 

This Inspire STEM is happening in your time zone:  

Thursday 11 May: 4-5.30pm (AEST), 2-3.30pm (AWST), 3.30-5pm(ACST) 

Thursday 18 May: 4-5.30pm (AEST), 2-3.30pm (AWST), 3.30-5pm(ACST) 

This online workshop is part of the Little Scientists Inspire STEM series, which will introduce the concepts, methods, and skills of inquiry-based STEM education to early childhood educators and teachers. Together, we will explore a range of simple techniques to cultivate children’s skills and excitement for STEM exploration and you will come away with a suite of hands-on STEM provocations to enrich your practice in your service or classroom.  

STEM Learning Outcomes 
  • Overview of early STEM education and inquiry-based learning. 
  • Discover everyday phenomena and explanations of basic scientific concepts. 
  • Uncover the importance of playfulness and joy as impetuses to scientific discovery and research. 
  • Interactive demonstrations of STEM explorations using items found around the home. 
  • Create rich learning environments that stimulate discovery, sustainability learning, and nurture curiosity in children and adults alike. 
  • Learn how STEM education is much more than having factual answers to complex questions. 
  • The confidence to tap into, guide, and focus children’s natural interests and abilities.  
  • The confidence to pass on your new knowledge and skills to your colleagues and to become a STEM champion in your service.  

Questions? Email us at workshops@littlescientists.org.au 

Terms and Conditions

TQI registered PD


Powered by

Tickets for good, not greed Humanitix donates 100% of profits from booking fees to charity




Refund policy

Refunds are available up to 14 days prior to the event