More dates

Yiddish Shmueskrayz with Tamara Gleason Freidberg

This event has passed Get tickets

Event description

If you want to practice your Yiddish and have a good time getting to know people, this is the right course for you. We will speak in mame-loshn about diverse topics. We will have a conversation both as a group and in smaller cohorts according to level. Some of the sessions will be focused on a specific topic. We will also try to solve a couple of riddles and learn some Yiddish expressions and sayings to enrich our Yiddish repertoire. This is a course for beginner, intermediate and advanced learners of Yiddish as we will be working according to level.

When: starting on November 9 at 11:00 a.m (PT) California

 1:00 p.m (CT) Chicago

 2:00 p.m (ET) New York

 7:00 p.m (GMT+1) UK

 8:00 p.m (CET) Central Europe

Where: Online via Zoom

Tuition: $20 Individual, $70 Six Class Package (Regular Prices)

Early Bird (before October 19): $15 Individual, $60 Six Class Package

Instructor: Tamara Gleason Freidberg

Tamara Gleason Freidberg is a historian (MPhil by UNAM, Mexico) and a gerontologist (MSc by King’s College London). She is the author of Di Shvue, los bundistas en México y su participación en la comunidad judía. Her work includes publications on Mexican Yiddish literature and the Jewish Left in Mexico. Tamara facilitates Yiddish sessions at the Holocaust Survivor’s Centre, is an active organiser of the Yiddish Open Mic (London) and Yiddish House London. As a PhD candidate at UCL London, she currently studies the Yiddish press in Mexico, its’ sources and its’ unique role in the communication of news about the Holocaust as it developed.


    Powered by

    Tickets for good, not greed Humanitix donates 100% of profits from booking fees to charity




    Refund policy

    Refunds are available up to 7 days prior to the event