More dates

NSSO Summer Concert 2023

Price $12 – $38 AUD Get tickets

Event description


Borodin: Polovtsian Dances

Bach: Piano Concerto No.1
(Joshua Han: Piano)

D’Arcy: Durmugam

Tchaikovsky: Nutcracker Suite No.1

Anderson: A Christmas Festival

Conductor: Steven Hillinger
Concertmaster: Adrian Keating

Our final concert will be one of our popular Summer Concerts, with a more relaxed presentation, introductions to the works and a range of well-known, accessible music suitable for all the family to enjoy.

The concert opens with the vigorous and well-known Polovtsian Dances by Borodin. The lively dances will be familiar to many due to their frequent appearances in film and television soundtracks.
We are excited to be joined by the 2022 winner of the 2MBS Fine Music Young Virtuoso Award, Joshua Han, to play Bach's wonderful Piano Concerto No. 1.

The concert also features a new work by James D'Arcy. James is the NSSO principal clarinettist, and also a successful composer and arranger. His piece Durmugam is a work based on an essay by W.E.H. Stanner, an Australian anthropologist, who worked extensively with Indigenous Australians.

After the joyous dances of Tchaikovsky's iconic Christmas ballet, The Nutcracker, we close the concert in rousing style with Leroy Anderson's Christmas Festival - and singing is most definitely encouraged!

Powered by

The humane choice for tickets Humanitix donates 100% of profits from booking fees to children’s charities

Refund policy

No refunds