More dates

Everyone and Everything: In conversation with author Nadine Cohen

Price $25 – $50 AUD + BF Get tickets

Event description

Join local author Nadine Cohen in conversation with Hannah van Otterloo to discuss her funny and tender debut novel, Everyone and Everything.

WHEN: Wednesday, 31st July, 2024, at Gertrude & Alice Cafe Bookstore, please arrive at 6.45pm for a prompt 7pm start.

TICKETS: 

Admission; $25.00 (excluding external fees). Your ticket includes a drink on arrival and nibbles during the evening.

Admission + Book Bundle; $50.00 (excluding external fees). Your ticket includes a drink on arrival and nibbles during the evening and a copy of Nadine Cohen's novel, Everyone and Everything. (RRP: $32.95)

A dazzling literary debut, Everyone and Everything will make you laugh, cry and call your sister.

About Everyone and Everything

When Yael Silver’s world comes crashing down, she looks to the past for answers and finds solace in surprising places. An unconventional new friendship, a seaside safe space and an unsettling amount of dairy help her to heal, as she wrestles with her demons – and some truly terrible erotic literature.

Funny and tender, Everyone and Everything is about friendship, grief and the deep, frustrating bond between sisters. It asks what makes us who we are and what leads us onto ledges. Perfect for fans of Meg Mason, Nora Ephron and Victoria Hannan, this is an intimate, wry and wise exploration of one woman’s journey to the brink and back.


About the Author

Nadine J. Cohen, also known as Nadine von Cohen, is a writer and refugee advocate from Sydney. Her musings can be found all over the internet, with bylines in The Guardian, The Saturday Paper, SMH, ABC, SBS, Frankie, Harper’s Bazaar and more. She co-founded and directed Hope for Nauru, a volunteer-run not-for-profit serving refugees and asylum seekers affected by offshore detention, from 2018 to 2023. Everyone and Everything is her debut novel.


About the Host - Hannah van Otterloo

Hannah loves escaping into books and will give any type of book a go. An unputdownable novel or non-fiction is a type of meditation for Hannah, who in her day-to-day life is always on the go, very social and busy and Hannah needs books to calm down and introvert. Fun fact she would rather read than watch TV! With an Australian mum and a Dutch dad, Hannah grew up in a bilingual household which was very much reflected in her book collection and reading – often reading books in both languages… Has anyone here read Harry Potter in another language? It’s like a whole new world! Her passion for reading in both languages was encouraged and celebrated by both her parents and even till this day she will aim to read Dutch books and treks them back in her luggage from Holland after trips “home”. One day she hopes to make reading her full-time job, so.. all tips are welcome!

About Gertrude & Alice Cafe Bookstore

Rated as one of the top 10 bookstores in the world by National Geographic, Gertrude & Alice Cafe Bookstore is an oasis for writers, readers, and coffee lovers. Books overflow from the shelves of their store, featuring a mix of new, second-hand, antiquarian and rare books. Stay a while & enjoy some homemade chai, and amazing coffee, and unearth a book treasure or two. Read more about the bookstore's story here, and about the real Gertrude & Alice here.


Powered by

Tickets for good, not greed Humanitix donates 100% of profits from booking fees to charity